top of page

STYLE, THE MODERN MANS PERSPECTIVE

Men's style today has evolved over the years,  it's not necessarily a new thing coming into fashion but a blend of the old and the new creating what I call a modern man's look or style or capsule 😊.

Never mind all my terms I know you get what I am trying to say. 

Today, suits, sports blazers and jackets are following a more trimmed look to lay emphasis on the body. 

There are a few things to look out for which are some of my preferences for now:

The notch on the lapel pin is raised higher up the chest almost certainly on the clavicles which for me accentuates the shoulders making it feel easier and broader (the bigger the lapel the better). I don't mean to say small lapels aren't good but the big ones are in full season now. 

The next point of emphasis is the arm length. I can remember wearing a blazer with long arms that just leaves your hand out. This has a bulky look to the suit compared to the shorter arm cuts which are now common. These cuts leave the cuffs of the suit properly seated about 1"1/4 above your wrists giving that sharp trimmed look to the arm and adds to the total look.

One obvious change is the trimmed mid section above the waist line of the blazer. The silhouette defining cut gives the masculine (the triangle shape) look allowing the shoulders to look broad with the trimmed mid section tucked in nicely. This is one must for any piece I pick up as it has manly written all over it 🙌🏾😌.

The length of the piece too is another point of note. The length alone can make one piece look different from the same with a different length as the longer always looks more formal than the shorter cut.  

There are so many other details like construct, structured or unstructured, but as you know I am dealing with everyday man so my job is to get you to see things from an obvious eye.

I guess for me these are some of the key features I look for in a blazer or suit piece. 


bottom of page