top of page

40+ Man Summer tips

As I have mentioned a couple of times before in my older posts, the 40+ man is slowly gaining his place with style as more stylish older men are making an effort to look the par.


Still, there are things to consider as an older man so you don't appear as though you really want to fit into brackets you don't belong 🤦🏾‍♂️, like wearing sagging pants (oops 🤐) I am not saying it's bad but I won't say it's ideal for the older man.


Straight to the point so I don't bore you.....


1-SIMPLE IS CLASSY

When dressing up for the summer try to stay simple in regards to prints and patterns, not saying you shouldn't but keep it under control.

I would prefer to build from plain tones as I feel there is more class in it's expression.


The choice of wears would be a polo top or a shirt and may be a T-shirt in rare circumstances.

As you know, style is a subtle expression not meant to appear intended even though it is, that is why for the older man, I would always recommend single tone and patternless wears to be most prominent in your summer capsule.


That way you can play with colours, mix and matching limited pieces to get loads of wears from.


2-KEEP IT LIGHT WITH LINEN OR COTTON LINEN

This is a long one because it's key to the entire look and feel of your outfit.

During the summer months, the great obstacle we'll face would be the heat and we can't go around all day looking like the beach boys can we? 🤷🏾‍♂️. Ofcourse not! So, Linen is a great fabric option for your choice of wears because of its porous nature, allowing air circulation through your outfit still allowing you some comfort while keeping the suave.🙌🏾😂


Still on Linen, if you live in a different region like where I live, the Uk, where it feels warm in the day then it can all go south in a couple of hours. Linen-cotton blends are your best option as they allow for a good amount of air while still weighted to keep the slight chill out, yep something I just recently found in a few stores like Charles Tyrwhitt Summer Collection , for me these are lovely pieces to have so I don't have to carry layers around in fear of what the weather might bring.

There is also the soft fresh 💯 cotton that helps with the alternating weather too like the fresh yellow top I am wearing from Massimo Dutti's new collection. This can be best enjoyed when it's not so hot as you don't want sweat marks all over you like a map 😂.


3-KEEP THE CROP

This is another one that brings in a lot of personal preference as well as opinions.

Cropped pants can be worn by anyone so my summer capsule always has 90% cropped pants and tapered pants.

I am not saying you have to wear cropped pants, infact, cropped or tapered pants are based on physique a lot of the time so don't just wear it, look at your body type and that would help make your choices. If you are the type that builds calfs in the gym that can sit a cat 🤣😂then you'll struggle with tapered pants.....just saying 🙅🏾‍♂️ 🤔


I think I need to do another blog where I discuss shape to fit.... yes 😃


The reason I love the tapered and cropped look is, if we decide to head to the park and have a sit on the grass just to take in the sunny weather, all I need do is have my shoes in hand and you feel you were made for the gardens, feeling so relaxed 😎.


"Remember is about the look as well as the feel "


4-STAY ON THE BRIGHT SIDE

It's summer, do not be afraid of colours, colour is your best friend in the summer. For me, the colour and tone of my summer wear is dependent on my skin tone, that's why yellow looks really nice because of the contrast in tone compared to my skin.

My choice of colours for pants are white, cream and light brown as I can wear them with almost any top. I am also not too fussed about quantity as quality is what matters for me so the less I get the better the quality.

Finally on pants, cropped and tapered pants also are best on slim fit and skinny pants.

All these are part of the new evolving look, breaking the mould of the modern man's style.


5-LOAFERS WITH NO SHOW

Loafers are a great summer statement wear, either tassle or the penny loafers 👞 would work although for me the penny is more formal (my preference).

Loafers for me are a bridge between the formal and casual wear so if there is any shoe you take on your holiday trip and you need one to cover all, I'll go for the loafers above any other type of shoe.

There are different types of loafers in regard to soles and structure, for a more casual look I tend to opt for the tassle with low sole, keeping the weight on my fit reasonable less and a pair of "no show socks" to go with it.

Wearing no-show-socks, I found that it made a huge difference as the hours in the day goes by. Sole comfort is paramount and that's what you get with a no show sock.

No show socks can get a little annoying if you don't get the right ones as it always goes under your heel after a while wearing them, so I took some time out over the last few years to get a few (after spending so much 😔) and I have found the two best options for me are Massimo Dutti no show socks and a second option from American eagle outfitters.


6- KEEP THE SUN AT BAY

Not just as an accessory, a pair of sunglasses 😎 seals off the look in the sun.

I am not going in depth as to what types based on the shape of your face/head but rather on functionality. The best choices are the polarisers which don't reduce the intensity of light but also gives you visual clarity.

Polarised lenses reduce reflected glare from the water or flat reflective surfaces and removes the wash-like effect when looking through them, so they are an essential to both your eyes and your style.


I hope you find this fun to read, so please hit me up and let me know what your thoughts are about this read! Now go and enjoy your summer.


Photography by Toyin Efeturi

Edited by Toyin Efeturi








bottom of page